Book Review: This is Love by Kennedy Fox (Checkmate duet #2)

32881382

 

Title: This is Love
Author: Kennedy Fox
Publication: December 13th 2016
Pages: 433 pages
Synopsis:

Viola Fisher is the epitome of perfection.
She despises my one-night stands and mocks my less-than-classy habits.
She’s smart, beautiful, and too good to be true.
And I want her.

If she were anyone else, I’d have made my move years ago, but considering she’s my best friend’s little sister, she’s always been off-limits. Not to mention how much she loathes my very existence.

Hating me is her religion, but needing her is mine. Her sexy curves and filthy smart mouth make me want her even more, and I’m more determined than ever to change her mind.

I’ll prove I’m done playing games.
But until then, we’ll continue to play by her rules.
Viola Fisher may have won the battle, but the war isn’t over yet.

Checkmate, princess.

banner-1

MY RATING: 4/5 STARS

THIS REVIEW HAS SPOILERS. READ AT YOUR OWN RISK.

So we’re back with Travis and Viola after the “shocking” ending that happened in the first book, “This is War.” I’m putting shocking in quotations because I really didn’t care for it. It didn’t make me want to read the second one but it was the characters that made me want to read more.

With all that drama and madness, I was really preparing myself for the first five chapters or even a giant chunk of this book where Travis and Viola are worlds apart and Viola doesn’t trust Travis anymore and Travis tries to explain to Viola about what really happened but I’m happy to say, it was not like that. LIKE WE WERE SAVED OF ALL THE RIDICULOUS ANGST WHERE THEY’RE SUFFERING WITHOUT EACH OTHER.

We jumped straight into Viola giving Travis the benefit of the doubt and him knowing the situation looks pretty bad so he knows to win back Viola’s trust, he needs to take things slow. So what do we get from this book?

We get a whole bunch of fluff. Like what is Travis? He’s so sweet he’s giving me diabetes. And Viola is much more relatable in this one to me because she’s fresh from graduation or in the very last semester of university and she’s basically freaking out about her life. Like what’s she going to do next after having the structure of school crumble around her once graduation happens? And that’s basically me so I think Kennedy Fox did an amazing job at depicting what students feel nowadays.

Moving on, there are a few things that made me go “I mean I guess.” Meaning, certain parts were hard to believe or it didn’t hit with impact I wanted. Let’s talk about how Viola ended the relationship without having Travis fully explain himself and his side of the story of what actually happened with Mia. And she goes to fucking Boston and then is gone for six months, pregnant, and very much afraid and also understanding that she was probably wrong too for what she did and that maybe just maybe, she should have trusted Travis more too and let him explain. LIKE SERIOUSLY. REALLY. If i’m pregnant, and if I know I fucked up too, and I still love my partner, I’m calling him. I’m letting him know that I’m scared, I need money for this baby, and he has every right to know too because HELLO HIS LIFE CHANGES TOO WHEN A BABY COMES IN.

Instead, she finishes her placement and THEN comes back and let’s Travis know. And he’s like I’m down for this. I wanna be a father. And he FORGIVES her for not telling him sooner. To be honest, I would be pretty pissed if I was in Travis’s shoes because like holy shit I’m starting my marketing firm and now you’re telling me I missed out so many months of your pregnancy???? This is too wild.

It’s not something that made me go I need to lower my rating for the book but it was seriously a “I mean I guess moment.”

Final Recommendation

You gotta finish something you started. It has fluff for god sakes. Who doesn’t love fluff??? Pick it up!

Leave a comment