Book Review: This is War by Kennedy Fox

31946442

Title: This is War
Author: Kennedy Fox
Publication: October 3rd 2016
Pages: 414 pages
Synopsis:

*An enemies to lovers romance*

Travis King is the worst kind of asshole.
He taunts me for being a good girl and mocks my high standards.
He’s cruel, crass, and has enough confidence to last two lifetimes.
And I hate him.

It wouldn’t matter so much if he were avoidable.

But considering he’s my older brother’s best friend and roommate, I see him more than I’d ever want to.

His sculpted abs and gorgeous eyes are a waste on such an egotistical man, which makes me hate him even more.

Even though I’ve had a crush on him since I was ten, the feelings weren’t mutual and he’s always made that very clear.

He’s always loved getting under my skin and one night against my better judgment, I let him in my bed.

I’ve succumbed to his manwhore ways, but that doesn’t change a thing.

Because the King is about to get played at his own game—and lose.

Checkmate.

banner-1

MY RATING: 4/5 STARS

Clearly, I’m reading Kennedy Fox books out of order since my last post was their latest novel “This is Dangerous.”

Anyways, to begin to this review, I wanted to say that I enjoy This is War a whole lot better than This is Dangerous. I’m not saying that This is Dangerous was bad and you shouldn’t read it but This is War stole a piece of my heart more than the latter.

Moving on, let’s introduce our heroine, Viola. Viola, a hardworking studious girl is thrown off for a week when her brother, Drew, decides to go away with his girlfriend for the weekend and is leaving her behind with none other than our hero and her worst enemy, Travis. She is whip smart, ready to throw back sass at Travis, and isn’t afraid of standing her ground which is appreciated. However, I’m starting to worry that Kennedy Fox creates characters that always follow the “good” route. They either volunteer or they’re at the top of their class or they’re just genuine nice people that their peers adore but for some reason, the hero hates. I don’t know. I never read the second duet yet so I haven’t met any new characters. Hopefully, I’m going to be proven wrong and I get a little twist soon because I’m kind of rolling my eyes at this point.

Our hero, Travis is blown up in big proportions. He likes sex so he’s painted as a sex god who keeps having sex basically every chapter or mentions that he’s been having regularly hookups. Which is a type of character we see a lot nowadays in romance and it’s good but if you’re not looking forward to another womanizer like him, then maybe this isn’t for you. Travis follows also the traditional troupe. He’s smart, works hard, and is on his way to becoming a big shot in the marketing world. Oh, and he wears a lot of suits which I do not mind at all guys. I love men in suits. He comes from a tough background and through his childhood friendship with Drew and Viola, he manages to survive the most parts of it unscathed.

This is something I really like about the novel is that they were childhood friends. It originates from a past and makes them bond in a way than the normal I fell for you in this week type of story. They had a past filled with hardships and love that made me feel more for them when the angsty bits did come around. I have to admit I did cry a bit towards the declaration of love and when everything was cleared up.

I was really hesitant to read this book at first simply because I read some goodreads reviews where they said Travis cheats on Viola throughout their relationship together or whatever but that literally doesn’t even happen because they never had a relationship at least not until the end. Like just because you have a thing with someone, it doesn’t mean you’re exclusive to them until you both have a mutual understanding or an implied understanding that your partner will be 100% committed to you. This put me off a lot because I was like oh man. I don’t want to read about a guy constantly cheating cause like seriously. This is NOT the case.

The thing I’m starting to struggle with for Kennedy Fox duets is that it feels like the book is ending and there really isn’t much left to write but there’s always a plot twist towards the end that makes you go, “wow. really?” and you’re always wondering if it’s worth it to continue.

With that all being said, Travis and Viola’s story made me want to continue. I’m going to start the second one very soon.

My recommendation

Pick it up! It’s a solid read that I hardly think you’ll regret.

 

Leave a comment