BOOK REVIEW: Get a Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hilbbert

B O O K R E V I E W

43092891Title: Get a Life, Chloe Brown
Author: Talia Hibbert
Publication: November 5th 2019
Synopsis: Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance’s brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things—perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang.

Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost—but not quite—dying, she’s come up with seven directives to help her “Get a Life”, and she’s already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamourous family’s mansion. The next items?

Enjoy a drunken night out.
Ride a motorcycle.
Go camping.
Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex.
Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage.
And… do something bad.
But it’s not easy being bad, even when you’ve written step-by-step guidelines on how to do it correctly. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job.

Redford ‘Red’ Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and more sex appeal than ten-thousand Hollywood heartthrobs. He’s also an artist who paints at night and hides his work in the light of day, which Chloe knows because she spies on him occasionally. Just the teeniest, tiniest bit.

But when she enlists Red in her mission to rebel, she learns things about him that no spy session could teach her. Like why he clearly resents Chloe’s wealthy background. And why he never shows his art to anyone. And what really lies beneath his rough exterior…

ORDER YOUR COPY TODAY

AMAZON.CA | AMAZON.COMINDIGO | GOODREADS

MY RATING: 4/5 STARS

I received a copy from Chapters Indigo and an ARC from Harper Collins in exchange for a honest review.

I had my doubts about this one when I first read the synopsis because I’ve had difficulty with characters like Chloe. You know, the socially inept ones who don’t have many friends and do things routinely and basically live in a shell and hardly go out. It gets difficult for me because I just want to SHAKE THEM so they can finally break out and flourish but I get that there are people like this and that’s why these stories are important.

Regardless, reader. I liked Chloe Brown. I did not think she was annoying and I didn’t want to throttle her. Well, not a lot anyways. She was very secretive about her health issues, past relationship trauma, and basically her personal life to Red when they first started talking and interacting but then you get them slowly telling each other about themselves and it’s magical. Their love is a slow-burn for sure. Something that will make you want to read more and more.

I really liked Red’s story line as well. After being stuck in a manipulative relationship with physical and emotional abuse, Red’s going through some stuff just like Chloe. He’s kind, talented in painting, and loved by everyone in the building he manages. Red just needs a bit of help to get him back into the relationship department and I’m glad Talia Hibbert did a fantastic job at resolving his issues.

I cried at the ending of this book and wanted to scream at them both for making silly billy mistakes and jumping the gun but overall, it was enjoyable.

MY RECOMMENDATION

Definitely do not sleep on this one!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s