BOOK REVIEW: Twisted Twosome by Meghan Quinn

Book Review!

TwistedTwosomeAmazon

Title: Twisted Twosome
Author: Meghan Quinn
Publication: August 3rd 2017
Pages: unknown
Synopsis:

Racer McKay is a broody bastard.

From the moment I met him, he’s been rude, irritable, and unbearable. And worse? He’s broke.

A contractor working to remodel my parents pool house for extra cash, he stomps around in those clunky construction boots with his tool belt wrapped around his narrow waist, and a chip on his shoulder.

Racer McKay is also infuriatingly . . . sexy as hell. I want to take that pencil tucked behind his ear, and draw lazy lines slowly up and down his body all the while wanting to strangle him at the same time.

We try to stay out of each other’s way . . . that is until I have no other option but to ask for his help.

But what I don’t realize is he needs me just as much as I need him. I have money he’s desperate for, and he holds the key to making my dreams come true.

Our pranks turn from sarcastic banter, to sexual tension and lust-filled glances. Bickering matches quickly morph into slow burn moments. We’re hot, we’re cold. We push and pull. I need him, I don’t want him. We’re on the verge of combusting with an agreement dangling dangerously between us. Neither one of us can afford to lose one another and yet, we’re finding it quite hard to decipher the line that rests between love and hate.

*Twisted Twosome is a stand alone romantic comedy.

AdTeaser_SomethingElse

MY RATING: 2.75/5

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

This is my first Meghan Quinn novel so I really didn’t know what to expect except for a romantic comedy of some sort judging from the cover. I’ve seen a fair share of her stuff throughout Instagram and loved all the covers so I was very excited about this.

The reason behind my weird rating is that while Twisted Twosome was not bad enough to be a 2.5 out of 5, it barely missed the mark for an average rating of 3. And I’ll explain why.

I want to first talk about Racer. Meghan Quinn does a great job at describing his sexual appeal by exaggerating his looks and the opposite sex’s attraction for him. The novel started off with Racer doing some handy man jobs but in a thong. That’s right ladies, a thong. And in front of an older woman no less with boobs that flattened like pancakes from years of aging. I know. Let’s just take a break because this mental imagery is probably not what you were expecting right off the bat.

I digress.

Related image

Going back to Racer, let’s talk about how he’s just a really big asshole. He’s so rude, crude, and jumps to conclusions faster than you flipping a page. I really couldn’t stand him for the most part of the novel and just wished for him to have some motivation to why he treated Georgina the way he did.

His motivation behind his mistreatment and hateful, rude comments to Georgina had no direct connection. Sure, he felt prejudice. Georgina comes from a background of wealthy business man and Racer comes from large heaps of debt. He’s embarrassed by the financial situation he is in and believes Georgina and him are two worlds apart. Which is true. They are. But seriously, are you going to be rude to someone just because they have a lot of money? She didn’t even laugh at you once for being poor and suddenly, you’re jumping to conclusions about her character, herself, and her family.

Image result for eyeroll gif

Aside from that nonsense, I appreciated the fact that Meghan Quinn decided to add this tidbit about Racer’s background. He wants to make his late father proud and wants to uphold the business. Just like him and Georgina, they’re both fighters, fighting for their dreams.

Image result for chris hemsworth gif

Moving onto Georgina. Geez. What can I really say except she’s not the smartest tool in the shed. And that’s really saying a lot because how many times do we read about characters that are actually stupid and not just methodically or purposely made out stupid. From what I read, my first impression is that she doesn’t make sense. I mean, using your high heel shoes to tear down a wall in your newly open store? First of all, what???? How do you even make a dent with the heel of your shoe? Second of all, why would you ever use your designer shoes to do the job?

Image result for candice accola smile gif

It’s just stupid.

I don’t want to sound too harsh but Georgina is a very shallow character. There is hardly depth to her as a character. Sure, she has her differences with her father, wanting independence and his approval but it’s bare minimum in my opinion. In addition, there was a part in the book that made me go I mean I guess.

“It’s a lie; I have nothing to do. Absolutely. NOTHING! It’s one of the main reasons I want my shop so bad. I want to be responsible for creating business and purpose in my life, not sitting back waiting for someone to give me those things.”

I understood where Meghan Quinn was going with this because I’m going through similar things and I know friends who did too. It seems that everyone needs a job or a career or something to keep them going in life and to have drive and purpose. Georgina clearly didn’t have much of this when her family nearly hands her everything. But it’s just…

It was written in a way that made it sound like Georgina was doing this for fun like a hobby and not really because she really needed to do it or wanted to do it. But that’s just probably me being picky.

Image result for candice accola smile gif

Moving on to writing. Meghan Quinn writes quirky romantic comedy pieces. By quirky, I mean she’s not afraid to use crude humor that may not be suitable for all audiences. I’m talking about “feeling the breeze in your nipple hair” and “I wouldn’t even do the job even if you take off your shirt and pinch your nipples.” All these comments were made by Racer to Georgina by the way.

Yeah. You see why I had a difficult time taking in Racer?

Needless to say, the humor was not my style. I wasn’t laughing for the most part. But I do know a lot of people who may find this freaking hilarious. And that’s okay because different people have different styles of humor.

As for the writing, Meghan Quinn writes a piece that is easy to follow. It’s nothing you have to think about and it’s smooth.

MY RECOMMENDATION:

Read her other books first if this review made you think hmmm maybe not.

Book Review! (2)

WORDPRESS |INSTAGRAM | TWITTER GOODREADS

Leave a Reply

