BOOK REVIEW + BOOK BIRTHDAY: The Third Kiss by Kat Colmer

Book Review!

The Third Kiss Blog Series

35668065

Title: The Third Kiss
Author: Kat Colmer
Publication: August 7th 2017
Pages: 365
Synopsis:

Love curses don’t exist. At least that’s what Jonas, master of the meaningless hookup, tells himself when a letter warns him he’s an Eros Guardian cursed to endure a test of true love or forever be alone. His levelheaded longtime friend Cora figures it’s a revenge prank by an ex. The way Jonas stamps each girlfriend with a weeklong use-by date, it serves him right.

But when an impulsive kiss between the two friends reveals potential for more, Cora becomes the target of the Groth Maar: demons sent to wipe out the Eros Guardian line. And suddenly the curse becomes dangerously real.

Breaking the curse means Jonas’s biggest challenge yet. Failure guarantees Cora’s death. But success may cost him his own life…and the loss of his carefully guarded heart to the one girl far too sensible to fall for him.

Amazon: http://bit.ly/TheThirdKiss

B&N: http://bit.ly/LovesMortalCoil1

HBB-TTK

MY RATING: 4/5 STARS

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

I want to first start off this review by explaining that I don’t prefer fantasy and supernatural aspects in my young adult/new adult stories. It’s just not my cup of tea most of the times but I was given the opportunity by Entangled Teen to review this interesting tale of two people who are destined for each other and who are also fighting against it so I couldn’t really pass it up.

While I had difficulty believing the supernatural aspects of the story because I just love real life so much, I found myself enjoying the story and enjoying the plot that Kat Colmer wrote.

Let’s talk about our fierce heroine, Cora. She can probably kick your ass and kick mine too. Seriously, she has a black belt in tae kwon do and she uses this to her advantage to kick some serious demon butt. She also kicks our hero, Jona’s butt too. I liked Cora because unlike a lot of fantasy novels on the market, we actually see her actually do something. She isn’t an accessory or someone standing on the sidelines, waiting for her hero to save her life. No. She’s actively fighting for her life and even for his. I also enjoyed the fact that Cora wasn’t smitten with Jona from the first page. Sure, they shared a kiss but it didn’t make Cora think Jona was anything special until much later on when the time they spent with each other slowly wore her down and made her see his true colours in order for love to form.

TTK-Teaser2

Now let’s talk about Jona. My heart sunk when it was revealed why he was so against love and so against anything close to a relationship. It was sad to hear and I understood why Jona didn’t quite understand why his father did what he did until he was in his shoes and went through the same trauma. Kat Colmer did a very good job at making me yearn for Jona and Cora’s love. The whole story is about the power of love and it made me really believe in the importance of Jona and Cora falling in love so when it actually happened, it was this amazing feeling.

I think that was really why I gave it such a high rating.

Also, the epic fight scenes were pretty good too.

MY RECOMMENDATION:

READ IT!

TTK-Teaser1

Leave a Reply

