BOOK REVIEW: Seducing Lola by Jessica Prince

35485325

Title: Seducing Lola
Author: Jessica Prince
Publication: July 16th 2017
Pages: 292 pages
Synopsis:

I’ve had my fair share of bad relationships. I’ve dated liars, cheaters, shoe fetishists, and everything in between. Sure, these experiences would make any woman cynical when it comes to dipping her toe back into the dating pool, but I used my past for good and made a career out of helping other women avoid going down the same paths I had.

And I was damn good at it.

Until a random act of fate set my life on a course I’d been avoiding for years, and put me in the crosshairs of a man that made me feel things I swore to never feel again.

Now I’m in his sights and it seems like he’ll stop at nothing to seduce the hell out of me. He might hold my career in the palm of his hands, but if Grayson Lockhart thinks he can blackmail me into submission with his sexy voice and sexy hands and sexy everything, then he’s…probably right.

*Author Note: Seducing Lola is a fun, sassy, standalone romantic comedy with with it’s own HEA*

SL-AN

READ TODAY!

(Free in Kindle Unlimited)

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2uBsyaN

Amazon UK: https://goo.gl/8TCbnA

Add to GoodReads: https://goo.gl/DZ9tdp

MY RATING: 4.5/5 STARS

I want to start off this review with the simple fact that it was a comeback story that won my heart in the end. Believe me when I say that I was extremely hesitant about reading this one as soon as I started it. It’s not everyday that I can stomach a character like our main heroine.

Now before you go what the hell. Why did you give it a 4.5/5 stars if you don’t even like the main heroine, I want to first applaud Jessica Prince for creating a character I hated and then justified it to the point where I went okay, I get it now.

So without a further ado, let’s begin with our main heroine Lola. Oh, Lola. She’s such a complex character and shallow at the same time. I want to give a fair warning to everyone who wants to read this novel that Lola can take some time to adjust to. She’s loud, sassy, overly confident, and sometimes, really annoying.

Let’s break this down and explain. Lola is seriously full of herself. Really. She tells readers about how hot her body is because she has high perky c-cup breasts, a tiny waist, and full child bearing hips. And how she’s basically a catch because she’s smart, hot, and a major fan of harry potter. Some might think she’s spunky and some might think she’s egotistic. I think both are right in this situation.

Image result for adriana lima superbowl gif

Her sense of humor is for the select few and to be honest, i’m not one of those select few. I hardly laughed at what she said and thought her wit was downright rude most of the times.

Aside from her jokes being annoying, herself was annoying too. This is because she’s so insecure about herself when it comes to relationships that she gets defensive about everything when things start falling into place. When a guy compliments her? She yells at him. When a guy claims he’s looking for something more than sex? She says he’s lying and that it doesn’t make sense. And God forbid, a guy actually missing/loving her because she doesn’t get it.

In Lola’s defense, she came from a heavy history of failed relationships that caused her to lose faith and trust in relationships. She’s been burned too many times and so she’s vulnerable, building walls to protect herself and her heart. And this is clearly seen and justified throughout the later half of the novel so that’s why I’m very glad I continued.

Image result for adriana lima superbowl gif

Moving onto Grayson, our hero. Why is that so far majority of my romance novels I’m reviewing have amazing heroes like Grayson. They’re so understanding, so loving, so no bullshit. It makes me gush when I think of Grayson because he really does put in all his efforts to win Lola. It was so refreshing to have a guy who was head over heels in love with a female and admit it. I am president of Grayson’s fan club.

Image result for DAVID GANDY GIF

Let’s talk about plot next. I want to call bullshit on this plot because the whole thing started because Lola is a host of this relationship advice radio show with her two best friends sophia, and daphine. It’s great but the way Lola and Grayson are forced together is highly implausible. If Lola did what she did in real life aka prank calling a man on live radio and humiliating him? You’re seeing lawsuits. Anyways, after wrongly accusing Grayson of being a womanizer, they’re both forced to pull this fake relationship charade to please the press.

It’s a far stretch guys.

I’m talking a far one. It was hard for me to even understand what was happening when the book decided to move into this direction but you know what? The writing was fun. The characters were decent. Grayson was fucking hot. I’m continuing. Fast forward towards the end of the book and I’m kind of shaking my head because the plot is being dragged. We’re filling pages here when Jessica Prince can wrap up her story. It wouldn’t be a problem if she hadn’t written it the way she did. But of course, in romance, we need the grand declaration of love. Which I loved by the way. It was great. But the way she wrote it made me weary because it literally felt stretched. Grayson kept cutting Lola off from speaking. Lola was too scared to confess during the perfect moments. Someone would cut in the way. A father would appear out of nowhere.

And yet, I continued.

And I’m glad I did because I met some really excellent characters like Lola’s brother, Duncan, Grayson’s father, Grayon’s mom, Grayson’s grandma, and last but not least, Grayson.

Image result for DAVID GANDY GIF

MY RECOMMENDATION

Aside from key weaknesses in plot, Jessica Prince delivered what she set out to deliver. A romantic comedy featuring some comedic events and the aww factor that readers are craving for. When I finished the book, I was so nervous that this would be the last that I would see of Lola and Grayson. They left a lasting impression with me and that’s saying a lot because it means that their relationship was fully developed and enough to let me have an emotional attachment.

I AM TOTALLY READING THE NEXT FEW STORIES FROM JESSICA PRINCE!!!

Image result for DAVID GANDY COUPLE GIF

 

 

Leave a Reply

