BOOK REVIEW: Dating you/ Hating you by Christina Lauren

 

32620304

Title: Dating you Hating you
Author: Christina Lauren
Publication: June 6th 2017
Pages: 350 pages
Synopsis:

All’s fair in love and work. The first standalone romance by New York Times and #1 international bestselling author Christina Lauren (Beautiful Bastard) is a sexy, compulsively readable romantic comedy that dives headlong into the thrill and doubt of modern love.

Despite the odds against them from an embarrassing meet-awkward at a mutual friend’s Halloween party, Carter and Evie immediately hit it off. Even the realization that they’re both high-powered agents at competing firms in Hollywood isn’t enough to squash the fire.

But when their two agencies merge—causing the pair to vie for the same position—all bets are off. What could have been a beautiful, blossoming romance turns into an all-out war of sabotage. Carter and Evie are both thirtysomething professionals—so why can’t they act like it?

Can Carter stop trying to please everyone and see how their mutual boss is really playing the game? Can Evie put aside her competitive nature long enough to figure out what she really wants in life? Can their actor clients just be something close to human? Whether these two Hollywood love/hatebirds get the storybook Hollywood ending or just a dramedy of epic proportions, you will get to enjoy Christina Lauren’s heartfelt, raucous, and hilarious romance style at its finest.

My RATING: 3/5 STARS

I was provided a copy of this book from Simon and Schuster in exchange for an honest review.

I want to start of this review by stating that I was very conflicted about this book simply because of a few things. First, I am in love with Christina Lauren’s writing style from the beautiful series that swept up our hearts and made us eat out of the palms of their hands. However, I feel that this time around, the writing style is a lot more different. It lacks fluidity. It’s more explaining and telling rather than showing. This makes the story drag on for quite a bit throughout, leaving readers and myself to find it kind of boring. In fact, I actually had to put this book down many times, force myself to read fifty pages, put it down, and then start all over again. It took me a few days to get through this and to me, that’s extremely rare. If I enjoy a book, I’m finishing it in one sitting. I’m not a quitter. LOL

22950982._SX540_

Moving forward, the story is told from two perspectives so we get a better understanding of characters and their motivations in the same plot line. I want to start off this discussion about Evie. Christina Lauren is a strong advocate for writing fierce female heroines that are feminists to the bone. While it was intriguing and worthy of applause to keep having Evie mentioning differences in treatment in the workplace among sexes, unequal pay, unequal work, unequal amount of representation etc. It was beginning to get to my nerves. NOW HEAR ME OUT BEFORE YOU SLAM DOWN THE “OH YOU’RE NOT A FEMINIST. HOW CAN YOU BE A WOMAN AND NOT STAND FOR YOUR OWN RIGHTS” speech. I want to point out that Evie inflicts blame and pulls out the unequal treatment card whenever things go slightly out of hand or not in her favor. And that to me says a lot about Evie as she is clearly unable to decipher a feminist issue from an issue involving the workplace. It’s not always a feminism thing is what I’m trying to get at. And because she likes to point fingers, specifically towards Carter, our hero, it makes her look like a brat and a person who has low emotional intelligence.

Evie also has more to her than Carter. I find that Christina Lauren wanted to give a fist pump up in supports of feminism and then just slapped together the remaining pieces to form Carter. He’s not anti-feminist from the very start but Christina Lauren made him dull to the point, passive even so that it made him look worse than he seems. He was often dealing with Evie being upset at him for reasons that made no sense. Just because he doesn’t tell you every single thing he does at work and not at the exact moment it happens, it doesn’t always mean betrayal, Evie. Like seriously, get over yourself. Other than that, Carter is weak like a flimsy wet paper. It was disappointing because as much as I love females being brilliant, I like equal footing in my books especially when it’s told from dual perspectives. Because really, I was waiting for Carter to fight and win.

Moving onto the plot, it’s very similar to The Hating Game by Sally Thorne. It tells the tale of two rivals who want to secure a job in the same agency they work for and a manipulative sun of a bitch boss that makes it hard for Evie to have equal playing fields to work on. While the plot was okay, I don’t think I liked the idea of star agency talent setting both parties were in. It wasn’t all that interesting and I was indifferent to it. The twist or rather the annoying thing that finally got resolved, happened towards the end in a very rushed fashion. I was nervous about it but at that point, I was indifferent to how it ended.

This book was enjoyable despite my negative comments. The moments between Evie and Carter were cute, adorable, and fresh. It reminded a lot of the Beautiful series moments. It touched me to the core a lot and I felt emotional attachments to them.

Image result for christina lauren hating you dating you

MY RECOMMENDATION:

Pick it up but after you binge read all the Beautiful books.

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: Dating you/ Hating you by Christina Lauren

Leave a Reply

