MOVIE REVIEW: Spider-Man: Homecoming

Spider-Man Homecoming poster.jpg

 

Starring: Tom Holland, Michael Keaton, Jon Favreau, Zendaya

Synopsis: Thrilled by his experience with the Avengers, young Peter Parker returns home to live with his Aunt May. Under the watchful eye of mentor Tony Stark, Parker starts to embrace his newfound identity as Spider-Man. He also tries to return to his normal daily routine — distracted by thoughts of proving himself to be more than just a friendly neighborhood superhero. Peter must soon put his powers to the test when the evil Vulture emerges to threaten everything that he holds dear.
Release date: July 7, 2017

My rating: 3.5/5

Image result for spider-man homecoming

WHY I LOVED IT…

I want to first start off this review that I never read Spider-man comics or at least, I picked up a few here and there when I was younger after binge watching all Tobey Mcguire’s Spider-Man movies but to say I’m a hardcore fan that knows every little detail about the cinematic universe? No. I’m far from that.

But since I am a fan of Marvel, Spider-man was one of my fave superheroes growing up (I watched the new cartoon series after school every day), and I watched the latest release of the rebooted franchise, I am going to be bold and say I do deserve to say my opinions in this review.

I watched this movie without watching the trailer because I stopped caring about western culture after falling in love with k-pop and korean culture so this movie was just me following the waves and not knowing where it will go. Which is fine because a good movie will have a sensible plot you can figure out.

Our new Spider-man is played by Tom Holland which we met back in Captain America: Civil War. This might be just my opinion but I loved him in Civil War so I was very excited that it wouldn’t be the last that I would see him. I personally thought Tom did a very good job at portraying his own version of Peter Parker. An awkward intelligent boy, smitten and head over heels in love with girls out of his league but somehow always seems to get the girl. Tom provided the awkwardness through the cracks in his voice, his wild hand gestures, and expressive facial expressions. Was he the best Spider-man? To me, the original is best (although this is 10 year old Lisa’s opinion since I never rewatched any of Tobey’s movies now). Andrew Garfield, who played the previous Spider-man, did a good job too but no offense, he’s not Spider-man. He’s too tall, too good looking, and goofy and cute to be the awkward shy boy that doesn’t know what he’s doing.

Image result for spider-man homecoming

I knew Zendaya was in the movie but I didn’t know who and oh my goodness. I don’t even know how to begin to explain my frustration. Her character was off the rails. She had no emotions, barely any lines, and flipped the bird for no good reason except for comedic purposes. What was seriously the point of her? At one point, I got pretty upset that they wasted a character such as Mary-Jane. And the fact that they barely let Zendaya try to prove to us that she can actually act, Spider-Man: Homecoming hit a colossal miss with her.

Moving on to the production of the film, it was done well. Marvel does a good job with graphics and designs, panels of expansive shots of the glittering lights of the city, the people walking, the damages done because of the crazy battles the Avengers get in, and everything else in between. However, something that irked me was that there were a lot of very dark shots that were not edited to my standards. I’m not being picky. These scenes, I could barely see what the hell was happening. Where did Peter go? What? What did I miss? Did someone turn off the screen?

As for the plot, this movie did a good job at setting the new cinematic universe of Spider-man, giving it a fresh lift off from all the platforms we leaped off. We didn’t have to repeat the whole sob story of Uncle Ben or how he bitten by a radioactive spider or whatever. Peter was just peter right off from the start of coming back home after the big fight from Civil War. It was nice. It gave a lot of room for the writers to develop more afterwards.

My recommendation

Watch it because your friend, your friend’s mom, your friend’s mom’ mom, and everyone will talk about it.

Leave a Reply

