Book Review: Score by Victoria Denault

31933372

Title: Score
Author: Victoria Denault
Publication: May 9th 2017
Pages: 368
Synopsis: He’s used to winning, but now he’s playing with his heart.
Jude Braddock. Hockey god. That’s how everyone sees him now. But when they were teenagers, Zoey knew him as the kid who didn’t have enough nerve to make a move on their one and only disastrous date. Seems he doesn’t have that problem anymore, though. According to the rumors, he’s with a different woman every night. After a rough divorce, the last thing Zoey needs is more heartbreak. But Jude’s cocky, playful attitude is mighty hard to resist.
Jude knows he isn’t built for long-term relationships. But he’s getting sick of women pounding on his door in the middle of the night looking for a rematch. When Zoey comes back into his life, it’s like fate has given him a second chance. He’ll do anything to make her happy again. Is this what love looks like? He has no idea. All he knows for sure is that this time, he’s playing for keeps.

MY RATING: 2/5 STARS

REVIEW:

I received an Advanced Reader Copy of this book by Forever Romance in exchange for an honest review.

I have to be really honest with myself when I requested this book from Forever Romance. I actually felt indifferent by the story line and I felt indifferent by the cover of the novel. I know. I know. I shouldn’t judge a book by its cover but really I feel like I can sense out the type of style a book is going based on the cover. With that being said, let’s jump into the review and you can understand why I’m giving this book a 2/5 stars.

To begin, we have our main “hockey god”, Jude Braddock who is the definition of a playboy. Here’s this thing that I have with playboys. Yes, I get they have a lot of sex with many different girls. It’s basically the definition and I’m cool with it to a certain extent in a book but oh my god. Victoria Denault really emphasizes that Jude fucks a lot of girls. And it’s just frustrating because we can’t get over it with a chapter of describing his sexual history but it has to drag on for over 5 chapters. It’s also so annoying that all these girls remember where he lives and they keep showing up on his doorstep, begging him to have one more night of fun.

Like bro. What. I don’t even think that’s believable. I don’t think any guy ever has had a line of  different women on different days come to their door and ask for fun without any attachments because man, oh man, is he giving them orgasms every 2 seconds or something?

So that’s already annoying. To top it off, Jude had this lingering feeling for his childhood friend, Zoey. He claims it’s just a bruised ego that he wasn’t able to do the deed back when they were teenagers because of an embarrassing mishap featuring too much soda or something and vomit. Before we jump onto Zoey’s boat, let’s keep ranting about how Jude literally just wants sex with Zoey and he’s doing that whole ego thing like yeah, I just want to fuck. UGH. UGH.

ANYWAYS let’s go to Zoey. She married a pompous prick and now she’s going through a divorce that is supposed to be painful but I felt nothing for her. Her ex-husband just sounds like a dick but he was created in a way such that it seemed so far stretched. Like he wasn’t so harsh that I couldn’t believe it but it was just okay, you took away her credit cards, her house, her car. You’re a dick. But let’s move on. It’s reasonable that an ex would stop paying for your stuff.

OKAY BACK TO ZOEY. She sees Jude as a strong figure she can rely on and really, I can’t tell you much more about her. She’s a real estate agent. She helps Jude find a new place since so many annoying ass girls keep going to his place. She’s insecure because Jude has so many girls flock to her and she really doesn’t want to compete with gorgeous girls. It’s just whatever.

MOVING ON. This whole book focuses too much on Jude’s sister Dixie. She’s like the epic third wheel of this book and you know why?

Because Victora Denault wrote a book about her and her main interest that comes out in December 2017. Fantastic.

Do I recommend this book?

You can’t see me but i’m shrugging. Like it’s not a loss for you to miss this but it’s also not a big win to read it. I would pick it up if it were on sale at a thrift store or something.

 

Leave a Reply

