Book Review: Kidnapped by the Billionaire by Jackie Ashenden

25503118

Title:  Kidnapped by the Billionaire 

Author: Jackie Ashenden

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Publication: March 1st 2016

Pages: 384

Synopsis:  He kissed her the way he’d run her down, conquering her, taking her…

A priceless plan. An illicit attraction.
Seven years ago, billionaire-turned-bodyguard Elijah Hunt lost everything he had-his family, his future-and now he wants revenge. But when he decides to kidnap the daughter of the man who ruined his life, Elijah gets a lot more than he bargained for. Violet Fitzgerald is nothing like her corrupt wealthy father. In fact, she’s so disarmingly independent-and irresistible-that she just might be dangerous…

And a love that’s too good to be true.
Violet never thought she’d feel a connection to her captor. But there’s something beneath Elijah’s steel-bodied exterior that makes her want to know him more deeply…and surrender to his every demand. But once Elijah’s erotic fantasies become a reality-and he and Violet develop a real romantic connection-he finds himself in a quandary: Is he still the one in control? Or has Violet imprisoned him-body and soul?

My thoughts…1/5 stars

How do I describe my emotions after I read this book?

Because really, I pursued to near the end of the book, believing it would somehow get better, that Elijah would stop being a freaking cold bitch to Violet, I thought I was the one with Stockholm Syndrome in the end. Violet and Elijah’s love? Unbelievable because it’s eerily close to Stockholm Syndrome which is a giant red flag for any romance novel. This novel isn’t about sweet dreams, revelations, or any fairy tale ending you might have been searching for so if you wanted a romance with suspense and a hero who learns his soft side, move onto another book.

This is probably my fault but I jumped into this book thinking it was a standalone. From what I see of the other books listed in the series, it’s not like I’m entirely ruining myself by reading this one first. I mean, it does feel like I jumped off a cliff when all these characters are mentioned but I got over it. I kept going because I thought Elijah would change. However, he was just too cold, too heartless, and stubborn that I had my doubts he would ever love Violet like he claims he does.

All these soft stirring emotions in his chest? Yeah, no. I don’t believe it. As far as I’m concerned, there is nothing sexy about a man who mistreats women. How a man chops off her hair because he doesn’t want to draw attention. Or how a man takes a woman’s virginity, leaves, and doesn’t address or apologize for his behaviour.

And while we’re at it with poor characters that are seriously fucked up, let’s talk about Violet. Violet, honey. No. You keep fighting him. Don’t fall for him when he’s holding you captive. When he doesn’t care about how you feel when your family doesn’t even trying searching for you or when he keeps threatening to shoot you. There is literally nothing attractive when someone keeps threatening to shoot you if you don’t comply. Fine, you can argue with me that Violet is his captive and he’s trying to instill fear but what Jackie Ashenden forgot was that her job was to win her readers over with Elijah’s soft side towards her. There was no soft side. There was a chewy side that left a bad aftertaste in your mouth.

Seeing how all the other books barely have any ratings or lack of reviews, I think it’s safe to say to skip this book. I don’t know man. I almost finished it. I think I had less than 100 pages to go but it was just a waste of my time.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Kidnapped by the Billionaire by Jackie Ashenden

  1. Michelle says:

    Ugh this sounds bad. Thanks for the warning. I think ever since that 50 Shades bs I have been steering clear of these unrealistic very wealthy heroes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

