Book Review: 1981: Jesse’s Girl by Lindy Zart

28525124

Title:  Jesse’s Girl

Author: Lindy Zart

Publisher: WaWa Productions

Publication: February 26th 2016

Pages: 96

Synopsis: The road trip from Minnesota to Pennsylvania and back is meant to be the final adventure before four friends go their separate ways in the fall.

Except nothing goes as intended, beginning with the unexpected addition of Catherine Tate, Jessie Keller’s new girlfriend. Sam Kent denies his attraction to her while simultaneously deflecting unusual interest from his pal Hannah Lopez. Dickie Dean is the socially inept book lover who surprises them all.

Amidst a malfunctioning vehicle, being caught in the middle of a robbery, beer drinking, mosquito attacks, and other teenage drama, the five experience courage, broken hearts, fear, and laughter. Most importantly, they make memories.

Okay guys.

This is it. This is one of those books I wasn’t too sure of when I first started but Lindy Zart did an amazing job to turn me around and make me love it.

It starts off with Sam being interested in his friend Jessie’s girl named Catherine. She’s cool, pretty, and this natural goddess that captures everyone’s attention. However, we get to know more about Hannah–Sam’s best friend since childhood. We start to see Hannah struggling to cope with how all the boys are falling for Catherine’s charm but most importantly, how Sam is falling for her.

I was really annoyed because clearly, Catherine isn’t that great compared to the connection Sam and Hannah shared but what do you know…don’t judge a book by its name because things are kind of twisted.

“I don’t know how or when it happened, but it was like, on day, out of nowhere, I noticed how green your eyes really are. They shine, and they’re warm, like your heart. When you wink at me, my stomach spins,” She whispers. “And your smile makes me want to smile. And the thought of leaving you hurts–not leaving my family or friends, not leaving the town, but you.”

CAN I JUST DIE. THIS IS THE SWEETEST EVER!

Highly recommend this light read on a summer day. Oh and Lindy Zart?

She’s the coolest. Here’s the message at the very end of the book.

“If you enjoyed this book, please consider leaving a review on the site from where you bought it from. If you did not enjoy this book, please consider leaving a review on the site from where you bought it from. Keep it classy–all hateful posts will be framed and hung on a wall in my home for my kids to read. Please don’t traumatize my kids.” -Lindy.

10 thoughts on “Book Review: 1981: Jesse’s Girl by Lindy Zart

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    96 pages, and what a cute cover! Seems like a short, fast summer read. I think it’s always amazing whenever you have low expectations and the book ends up blowing you out of the water. Thanks for sharing, I haven’t heard of this book before today. 🙂

    Like

  2. amortalreader1 says:

    This book sounds really interesting, I have to say from the blurb I was feeling a bit like ‘I don’t know if I will enjoy it’ but based on your review and the inclusion of the quote I am intrigued to find out what happens between them all and what that quote is in reference to!

    Like

Leave a Reply

