Book Review: The Allure of Julian Lefray by R.S.Grey

25558955

Title: The Allure of Julian LeFray

Author: R.S. Grey

Publisher: Createspace

Publication: June 29th 2015

Pages: 366

Synopsis:

From: JosephineKeller@LLDesigns.com
To: LilyNBlack@gmail.com
Subject: Justin Timberlake Nudes!

Lily, you predictable perv. I knew you’d open this email faster if I tempted you with a glimpse of JT’s “PP”. Well, put your pants back on and grab some bubbly because I have much better news to share.

I GOT A JOB!

As of tomorrow, I’ll be the new executive assistant at Lorena Lefray Designs. I am SO excited, but there’s one itty bitty problem: I won’t be Lorena’s assistant. I’ll be working for her older brother, Julian.

I know what you’re thinking- “But Jo, what’s the problem?”

Google him. Now. He’s the man in the fitted navy suit whose face reminds you that there’s hope yet for this cruel, ugly world. Keep scrolling…Do you see those dimples? Yup. That’s the Julian Lefray I will be reporting to tomorrow morning.

Lord, help us all…

XO,
Jo

My thoughts…4/5 stars

This book was like chugging sugared water.

It was so unexpectedly sweet, I had to make sure it was real. This is my first book by R.S. Grey and I have a strong feeling it won’t be my last. Apart from not being a full 5/5, grand slam, out of the park book read, it was still fairly entertaining to read.

Julian is Josephine’s boss. Josephine is Julian’s executive assistant. Julian and Josephine are friends and only friends…until their attraction begins to become a severe problem for both of them.

What was this different about this book when compared to others was that Julian and Josephine’s relationship was really flirty and fun. They joked a lot, had the same humor, respected each other, and let each other grow as people. Julian never pressured Josephine to move more than she agreed to in their lustful relationship and Josephine was really strong because she knew what she wanted in life. She didn’t want to sleep with him because she was scared that if Julian thought it was a fling, she might lose her job, her goals of becoming a New York fashion stylist/blogger phenomenon, and everything else. Josephine was an outstanding heroine because she had goals and didn’t let hiccups stop her. She took control of her own life without the help of others. When she was broke because New York was expensive, she went to stores and personally asked for jobs. And Julian never swooped in with his billionaire rich characteristics, offering money and help to her simply because he was attracted to her like all the other novels we see today.

I was kind of impressed by it.

As for writing style, it was an easy relaxed read. The jokes weren’t hat funny to me but I’m sure it would be funny to a whole chunk of this book’s audience so you’re probably fine if you’re reading this.

My final recommendation? Give it a read but don’t expect it to be perfect. I had issues with this book because it kind of got boring for a bit. It focused a lot on the development of their friendship, filling the middle of the story with “witty” conversations, banter, etc. I craved more angst, more problems and issues both characters had to face, and most importantly, some character metamorphosis.

One thought on “Book Review: The Allure of Julian Lefray by R.S.Grey

Leave a Reply

