Book Review: Stuck-Up Suit by Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward

28477789

 

Title: Stuck-Up Suit

Author: Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward

Publisher: EverAfter Romance

Publication: April 11th 2016

Pages: 300

Synopsis: From the  New York Times Bestselling authors of Cocky Bastard, comes a sexy new standalone novel.

It started out like any other morning on the train.
Until I became mesmerized by the guy sitting across the aisle.
He was barking at someone on his phone like he ruled the world.
Who did the stuck-up suit think he was…God?
Actually, he looked like a God. That was about it.
When his stop came, he got up suddenly and left. So suddenly, he dropped his phone on the way out.
I might have picked it up.
I might have gone through all of his photos and called some of the numbers.
I might have held onto the mystery man’s phone for days―until I finally conjured up the courage to return it.
When I traipsed my ass across town to his fancy company, he refused to see me.
So, I left the phone on the empty desk outside the arrogant jerk’s office.
I might have also left behind a dirty picture on it first though.
I didn’t expect him to text back.
I didn’t expect our exchanges to be hot as hell.
I didn’t expect to fall for him―all before we even met.
The two of us couldn’t have been any more different.
Yet, you know what they say about opposites.
When we finally came face to face, we found out opposites sometimes do more than attract―we consumed each other.
Nothing could have prepared me for the ride he took me on. And I certainly wasn’t prepared for where I’d wind up when the ride was over.
All good things must come to an end, right?
Except our ending was one I didn’t see coming.

My Thoughts..1.5/5 stars

It’s 3 AM and I shouldn’t be writing a review for a book but I’m so annoyed that I have to. I’m willing to put off more sleep for a dumb book I stayed up late for just so I can rant about how annoying it was to me.

Okay, I get the whole “asshole billionaire” vibe books tend to have these days but what I didn’t expect was both characters being straight up assholes. To each other and I’m pretty sure to everyone, including Soraya even though she has like maybe 3 interactions with her friends in the whole story. I can’t get over the fact that Soraya is so psychotic. It pains me that the authors thought they were creating a strong female character by making Soraya rudely barge into an office, demand to speak with the CEO of the company, and yell at him over an intercom all for returning his cell phone. It’s ridiculous and unbelievable because who in the right mindset would think of such a thing. And don’t give me that steaming pile of BS when you tell me Graham is an asshole first. Like no. It doesn’t work that way in the real world. You’re a guest. You barely knew him before this incident. You don’t get to yell at people because you don’t get your way due to policy.

And let’s not get started with her attitude. I think the authors were just trying so hard to make this unique character who has a piercing on her tongue, dyes her hair green, and wears leather skirts that they forgot to give her substance. Her issues that stop her from committing to a real relationship is a steaming pile of BS. I know i’m repeating myself with the same phrase but it’s seriously not a problem. At least, not a strong enough problem that readers would take seriously because it’s just a dumb way of thinking. I can’t even tell you guys the problem because it’ll probably ruin the ending or the angst so I’ll just give you the warning.

Alright, enough grilling Soraya. Let’s talk about how Graham is not believable at all in the beginning when he was pining over Soraya. He was so infatuated by her and their whole texting conversation sounded so blown up and fake. I was not impressed at all. You know how there are some low quality books out there where you can just feel it being weak and that conversations are too fake to be real? Like a reasonable person wouldn’t think this way or wouldn’t say it in this tone or manner or use these exact words? If you know what I mean, you’ll find it in this book.

Actually, on second thought. This whole book was just weak. It was flimsy and annoying. Give it a hard pass guys. Save yourself five dollars. I don’t even know why it has such a high rating on Goodreads.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Stuck-Up Suit by Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward

Leave a Reply

