Book Review: The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart by Anna Bell

28811985

 

 

Title: The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart

Author: Anna Bell

Publisher: Zaffre Publishing

Publication: March 10th 2016

Pages: 432

Synopsis: A hilarious new romantic comedy for fans of Lindsey Kelk and Jane Costello from Anna Bell, the bestselling author of Don’t Tell the Groom. Abi’s barely left her bed since Joseph, the love of her life, dumped her, saying they were incompatible. When Joseph leaves a box of her possessions on her doorstep, she finds a bucket list of ten things she never knew he wanted to do. What better way to win him back than by completing the list, and proving they’re a perfect match? But there’s just one problem – or rather, ten. Abi’s not exactly the outdoorsy type, and she’s absolutely terrified of heights – not ideal for a list that includes climbing a mountain, cycling around the Isle of Wight and, last but not least, abseiling down the tallest building in town …Completing the list is going to need all Abi’s courage – and a lot of help from her friends. But as she heals her broken heart one task at a time, the newly confident Abi might just have a surprise in store …

My Thoughts…4/5 stars

I’m going to be really honest and say that I was going to give this book 3.5/5 but one line that a character said made me so happy.

The reason why I decided to give not a perfect rating is because Abi was an idiot from the get-go. She was clearly so lost in lust for her ex-boyfriend, Joseph, that she couldn’t even see the danger signs in her relationship. Or even the biggest red sign for a finalized breakup! Joseph seemed elated right after he broke up with her, showing no signs of remorse or upset. He didn’t even look like he was sad that his long term relationship just ended! Let me tell you ladies and gents, if you’re boyfriend breaks up with you and doesn’t even seem a tad bit sad that he’s hurt you or that he ended something so randomly, it means he’s over you. He doesn’t want to get back. And he’s pretty much an ass.

So basically, you kind of have to go into this book knowing the main heroine will be an idiot and her character growth would be realizing who she is, why her ex is, in fact, her ex, and finally realize something so sweet, so perfect, is right in front of her! I don’t want to ruin everything but it’s kind of very obvious who she ends up with in the end. Ben is such a sweet, sweet, sweet boy and I just want to gather him and his curly floppy hair in my arms whenever he’s hurt.

My recommendation? Read this book on a rainy day with a cup of tea. It doesn’t require much thinking and will soothe a sad soul. Happy reading!

 

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart by Anna Bell

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s