Too Tired.

It is recommended to get 8 hours of sleep each day.

They probably meant 8 hours of uninterrupted sleep. 8 hours of continuous sleep where you’re swept up in dreamland and you’re just…sleeping.

But like most of us, I don’t get 8 hours of sleep. I try to but when the Vine app is calling my name or Netflix is telling me that I only have 3 seasons of The Office before I finish the show, it’s hard to ignore their voices. For the past two days, I’ve gotten probably 10 hours of sleep in total.

That’s 5 hours of sleep for those who don’t want to do the simple math.

Or that’s 6 hours of sleep I should have gotten but I didn’t.

That’s 3 hours of lost sleep each day.

And because I lost 6 hours of sleep, I’m obviously tired. Because I’m tired, I lose interest in doing anything that requires a lot of activity or brain activity. While reading is an enjoyable and often, very relaxing pastime, it’s not one of my top activities I want to do when all I want is a nap.

Factor in homework, studying, and just napping, I’m hardly doing any reading during my spare time. The problem really is that I don’t get enough sleep so therefore, I lose interest in reading, and then I end up not reading for days.

Also, blog posts. I don’t write them because it takes a lot of effort on my part to write up book reviews.

Anyways, this is just an update on my reading life. I’ll definitely try to get more sleep soon. It’s affecting my schedule a lot. If you’re reading this, get some sleep.

Best,

Lisa.

14 thoughts on “Too Tired.

  1. Abby | ThePandaBookBlog.wordpress.com says:

    I do not know how many times I would like this post. As a graduating uni student, it’s very hard for me to keep up with my reading habits and my blog too! I totally understand how you feel. Hope you can get back to your normal self Lisa!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. amortalreader1 says:

    Like, Like, Like, Like, Like!
    This is basically my life right now. I’m looking forward to summer so much when I’m away from uni deadlines and I can read and catch up on sleep in the day haha!

    Like

  3. Lois says:

    I can so relate to this. Most of the time I read in bed and what usually happens is that I start a book and by 2am I am so invested in the book and I can’t put it down. I’ve been to break this habit but it’s no an easy one. Plus since university my sleeping pattern in general has been a bit messed up so I still need to sort that out haha.

    Like

    • remarkablylisa says:

      Ha! I forgot when was the last time I found a book that made me stay up super late. I think it’s mixed with my emotions of not wanting to be so invested to because I know I have a lot of things to do the next day. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

