Book Review: His Secretary’s Surprise Fiance by Joanne Rock

26891443

SUCH A SHAME BECAUSE THIS COVER HAD SO MANY PROMISES…

Title: His Secretary’s Surprise Fiance

Author: Joanne Rock

Publisher: Harlequin

Publication: March 8th 2016

Pages: 192

Synopsis: 
Adelaide Thibodeaux grew up with Dempsey Reynaud, and she’s worked for him for years. But when the billionaire football coach springs a surprise engagement to keep her from resigning, it’s a low blow. Just as she’s ready to strike out on her own, she’s stuck in a fake relationship with her boss, biding her time…

But soon Adelaide faces a second blow: she’s actually falling for the man! Can a relationship founded on a lie become the real deal? Or will they fumble before the end zone—and stay in the friend zone?

My rating: DNF 30%

Why I couldn’t keep going…

I received this arcon Netgalley in exchange for an honest review so I’ll be quite frank when I tell you that this plot is just far too unbelievable. It lacks realism. It’s filled with idiotic stubborn characters and I just had to skim the last 100 pages or so because I kept rolling my eyes too hard. Let’s start with the one factor in the story that pissed me off so much that I had to take a moment and just process what I just read. Adelaide, a hardworking and ambitious individual, wants to start her own business up but her boss, Dempsey, freaks out that she’s leaving her position. Hearing the news right before a very public announcement to the press, Dempsey tells the whole world that Adelaide is his fiance. Therefore, Adelaide can’t leave Dempsey.

I’M SORRY BUT JUST NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO. Dempsey is selfish and cocky and just plain NO. It’s not hot or sexy to have someone ruin your plans at creating a business you’ve dreamed of. And I know that because I didn’t finish this book, there could have been a chance for Dempsey to redeem himself as a human being but the idea is just lame. I don’t want to read about two people who have to put on a charade when Adelaide should straight up tell everyone the truth that Dempsey is a freaking psychopathic liar.

I highly suggest to skip but if you do read this, let me know if it gets better.

One thought on “Book Review: His Secretary’s Surprise Fiance by Joanne Rock

Leave a Reply

