Book Review: Rock-a-bye-rescue

25897398

Title: Rock-A-Bye-Rescue: Guarding Eve / Claiming Caleb

Authors: Beth Cornelison and Karen Whiddon

Publisher: Harlequin

Publication: February 9th 2016

Pages: 288

Synopsis: Two babies in jeopardy…two powerful stories in one! 

When an unhinged cult leader escapes custody, he’ll stop at nothing to get to two innocent babies…and the foster mothers who stand in his way.

GUARDING EVE by Beth Cornelison 

Lila Green goes from foster mom to bodyguard when a storm traps her and six-month-old Eve in a remote mountain cabin with a killer on their heels. Can her neighbor, wounded veteran Dean Hamilton, help them survive?

CLAIMING CALEB by Karen Whiddon 

Michelle Morgan must protect her newborn nephew, Caleb—and even work with her ex-fiancé. FBI agent Garrett Ware never wanted children, but now he’ll sacrifice everything for this baby…and this woman.

Disclaimer: An arc was provided to me on Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Add it on Goodreads

My rating: 2/5

My Review…

To be honest, this is my first Harlequin suspense novel because I found that I have to be in the romantic suspense mood in order to fully appreciate them. But seeing that I got this from Netgalley and I needed to put up a review, I pushed myself to read it and found myself somewhat liking it.

I didn’t know this book was basically two short stories in one. They should be less than 150 pages each considering the total amount of pages in the book was only 288. Because of the length, I found the first book, “Guarding Eve” by Beth Cornelison to be really rushed in the end. It was unbelievable and it sounded a lot like instalove rather than a slow burn one. I didn’t really get the cult leader’s perspective and kind ignored his parts because they were just unnecessary to me. It’s sad to say but after I read “Guarding Eve”, I just kind of skimmed “Claiming Caleb” by Karen Whiddon because I didn’t care about the story or the danger the characters were in.

Final recommendation…

I’ll give it a pass. You can probably pick up a better one off the shelf next to this one. Try a Victoria Dahl out!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Rock-a-bye-rescue

Leave a Reply

