Book Review: His Forever Family by Sarah M. Anderson

25897354

Title: His Forever Family

Author: Sarah M. Anderson

Publisher: Harlequin

Publication: February 9th 2016

Synopsis:

Found: one baby…and the boss’s future bride?

Tiny and helpless—the abandoned newborn that venture capitalist Marcus Warren finds during a morning run takes him by surprise. So does the sudden longing for his capable assistant, Liberty Reese, who reveals her tender side with the baby.

But Liberty must resist her gorgeous boss’s advances. Her secrets could destroy his trust, her career and the chance to care for the foster child they are both coming to love. Even so, she can’t deny the heat between them—or the fear that her past will end their chance to create a forever family.

Disclaimer: An arc was given to me on Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

My Rating: 2/5

What did I like…

Honestly, I didn’t hate it but there isn’t really anything I thought was special about this book.

What I didn’t like…

I didn’t like the premise of the book at all. The baby seemed like a link between both characters and the book hardly focused on said baby and how both characters adjust to it. And really? A baby? A baby that is found on the street is the one thing that draws two characters to finally confess their feelings for each other? Oh please. That’s just unbelievable.

I also didn’t like the characters. I thought Liberty suffered severe low self-esteem but also had this strong personality where she was confident in herself and her work? She was a contradiction from the start. On one hand, she’ll be assertive and tell Marcus to be himself. And then on the other, she’ll just go “oh, i’m not worthy of you.” Like ???

And I don’t even know what’s going on with Marcus. I don’t even think he had any issues but Liberty made this huge point of him needing to be himself and not follow his family’s criticisms. I didn’t think he was that bad.

There was something that stuck out to me and I’m pretty sure Sarah M. Anderson didn’t do it on purpose but she wrote a line where Marcus appreciated Liberty’s curves and then went on to explain how his ex-girlfriend was a bag of bones and weighed 115 pounds. I mean, I may be overly sensitive but this could have been totally offensive to females who weigh this much. What I’m trying to say is that the way she describes it didn’t work well. And there are nicer ways of saying things.

Final recommendations…

Skip it. It’s not worth the read and it was kind of boring.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: His Forever Family by Sarah M. Anderson

  1. theorangutanlibrarian says:

    Oh dear- this does not sound good. And it really irks me when women’s attractiveness is described by contrasting them with other women- so I don’t like the sound of this- I mean, why do you have to compliment someone for their curves by calling other women too skinny?

    Like

Leave a Reply

