Why You Should Watch Morning Glory on Valentine’s Day.

Hello there!

While I love the cute Valentine’s day movie and song suggestions everyone is posting about on their blogs or their instagram feeds, I just want to say that this year, I’m not buying into that love garbage. No, I didn’t get my heart broken. And no, I’m not bitter because I have no date or boyfriend to share the day with. I just think Valentine’s day is another day for me because I’m single and it’s really not that big of a deal.

I’m not upset about it. It’s just the way my life is presently at the moment. For me right now, I don’t feel like buying into the watch-a-romantic-movie-by-yourself-and-hope-it-happens-to-you movies because I feel like I can slay my own dragons. I don’t need a man on Valentine’s Day to feel complete. I don’t need a man every day of the year because I need someone to hold my hand, give me a hug, or squeeze my butt. If I want a boy, I would want the boy because I find a deep connection with him that I never felt before. Otherwise, I’m not going to actively look for one…for now…at least.

ANYWAYS. ENOUGH WITH MY RANT ON WHY I CHOOSE TO BE SINGLE ON VALENTINE’S DAY.

This post is about why you should watch this movie…

Morning Glory

Starring: Rachel Mcadams, Harrison Ford, Diana Keaton

What’s it about: Newly hired as a producer on a national morning-news program called “Daybreak,” Becky Fuller (Rachel McAdams) decides to revitalize the low-rated show by bringing in legendary anchorman Mike Pomeroy (Harrison Ford). Pomeroy, however, refuses to do puff pieces like celebrity gossip and fashion, and clashes with his co-host (Diane Keaton). Meanwhile, Becky’s romance with a colleague begins to unravel, leaving her struggling to save her relationship, her job and the show.

Why you should watch it: 

Let’s start off with the fact that this movie looks like the typical romantic comedy or romantic drama movie you see one night on Netflix. It has Rachel Mcadams and on a different cover, a strikingly handsome man known as Patrick Wilson. While at first I thought the same, I was surprised to find that this movie is extreme feminism.

Becky Fuller may not be the most qualified producer. She barely has any credentials under her name, she’s young, and to top it all off, she’s being held back because she looks like a ditzy female. However, she will be one of the most hardworking characters you’ll see on screen other than Elle Woods from Legally Blonde. When fired from her job, Becky kept her chin up and persevered until her hardships were no longer. She gave one hell of a speech to get her new job at Daybreak and even dared to stand up to bullies.

This movie barely skimmed the surface of romance. It mostly focused on Becky’s career and her passion for producing a really good morning talk show. She strived to prove everyone wrong, working hard to shut their negative voices out. Balancing her personal life with work gets tough but like many modern day women, Becky handles it tremendously well. She was the star of her life, made decisions for herself, and kept to her decisions. Becky was a really wholesome character and role model for every woman out there.

If you’re sick and tired of the lovey dovey movie suggestions and want something to empower you to become the best version of yourself, Morning Glory is definitely for you. Mind you, it can get dry if you’re not totally enveloped in the story but give it a chance this February 14. And if you don’t, consider it for the next movie night.

 

2 thoughts on “Why You Should Watch Morning Glory on Valentine’s Day.

Leave a Reply

