Book Review: Me Before You

Didn’t expect to hear back from me so soon after my last post about how I can’t seem to quite finish a book huh? Well, much to my excitement, I realized I only needed to take a break from Me Before You by Jojo Moyes and then I could push right through to the end of the book.

15507958

Title: Me Before You

Author: Jojo Moyes

Publication: December 31st 2012 

Pages: 369

Synopsis: Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time

ADD IT ON GOODREADS

Personal Rating: 4.5/5

My Preconceived Opinions of This Book

A friend of mine on Goodreads actually recommended me this book a few months ago. After reading the synopsis above, my first thoughts were “okay, sounds weird but ok.” The synopsis doesn’t tell you much about the story at all. And if you’re the type of reader that is okay with a synopsis not telling you what you can expect from the book, then it might be good for you but for me, personally, I needed more convincing. I needed to know the details behind it so I can get intrigued and convince myself that it’s worth the time to actually read this book. Because after reading the synopsis, I was meh about it.

A deeper synopsis…

Will Traynor is a quadriplegic after a unfortunate motorcycle accident. He was a traveler, an adventure seeker, and a brilliant businessman that seemed like he had the world in his hand. But after his accident, he was left confined in a wheelchair and caretaker named Lou Clark who desperately needs the income to support her family. Lou and Will were complete opposites. Lou liked her clothes bright, odd, and unique while Will liked his fashionable clothes that showed off his handsome physique. Both parties would have never been caught seen together if it weren’t for Will’s accident. Through a series of events, Lou and Will grow closer together, forming a deep friendship only time could build.  But will it ever be enough for Will and Lou or will they accept fate as it is?

What I liked about the book

I’ve been in the weirdest reading funk ever. If you refer to my last post, I couldn’t bring myself to get lost in any book. However, I was captivated by the very first page of this one. Reading this book felt like I was returning home to my comfortable cozy flat, a warm cup of tea in hand, and a throw over my body. It was like inviting an old friend to visit and to catch up to. Everything about this book was beautiful. The events that happened shaped the characters, nurtured them, and grew them into stronger versions of themselves till the very end. It felt like life was unfolding for these characters as I kept flipping the page.

I liked how it felt real. How they friendship was always on the balance between Lou figuring things out between her boyfriend Patrick and her developing feelings for Will. Or how Will was always at a constant battle between having Lou in his life or baring the thoughts of continuing his journey without her.

I liked how this book focused on the debate of choosing to live or choosing to die. Would I choose to live if I was in Will’s position? Constantly bedridden with infections and illnesses because my body is slowly shutting down or will I choose to fight on at a chance of a better life in the future. Will I give myself the choice of choosing my own fate or let fate do it? It’s all very debatable and I liked it a lot because I was constantly fighting with myself. My thoughts would always be circling around my head. ” Yes, I would decided assisted suicide would be my route. But then again, I might miss my family too much. How about the pain I’m going through? No, it’s worth it. No, wait. It’s not. “

What I didn’t like about the book…

There wasn’t much I disliked about the book. It’s a solid novel with solid characters. The only thing I would warn readers about is this book will make you feel empty. At the very end, you’re just going to feel like the battle is over. You’re done for the night. Pack up and just go home.  It’s an empty sadness.

I wished there was more between Will and Lou. I wished there was more from Will and how he’s fighting his feelings for her or how he’s fighting with himself on what to do with his life. I would have really appreciated seeing a sense of vulnerability in him where he reconsiders his plan all along. Maybe him reconsidering his options would have left a bigger impact on me in the end.

I did expect to cry a lot at the end of this book but I didn’t. I was just empty. I’m still empty. But it’s a good empty.

Should You Read This Book?

Honestly, read this book if you’re going through the motions of your life and you’re in that weird state of not knowing what’s really going on. I’m sure many of you guys feel this way. This book is a comfort book. It’s so close to a real life that you would feel like you’re Lou by the end. It’s almost the same feeling I get when I read The Time Traveler’s Wife. It’s just great writing that really captures the essence of life.

 

24 thoughts on “Book Review: Me Before You

  1. BOOKCEPTION21 says:

    I totally get that feeling of emptiness when you finished the book. Without spoiling anything, I feel like there should of been more of a fight from a certain charcter. It felt like they were giving up to me. Other than that, its one of my favourite books.

    Like

    • remarkablylisa says:

      I KNOW RIGHT!!!! wait are you talking about Will fighting or Lou fighting. I just feel like both should have fought more and Will should have totally had a debate with himself and said, hey look. This is one side. And this is the other side. I’m kind of conflicted so maybe I should think about my decisions more.

      Like

      • BOOKCEPTION21 says:

        Both but more so Will. I feel he should have thought about it a lot more before coming to such a conclusion. But since it’s such a difficult thing to relate to, I wouldn’t know the first thing he’s feeling.

        Like

  2. Thuong Le says:

    Great review! Sounds like a great read. Heard about it ages ago and was planning on reading it but just never got round to it. Since the film has been released, might give it a go at some point, as soon as i’m done reading all my thriller books 🙂

    Like

  3. otoolebridget says:

    I’ve heard good things about this book, but hearing about the second book made me a bit weary of reading this. Thanks for the great review!

    Like

      • otoolebridget says:

        haha! Well, if you decide to give it shot, I will definitely be open to hearing your opinion!! The trailer for Me Before You & this review may have convinced me to pick up the book myself!

        Like

      • remarkablylisa says:

        Niceeeeeee I’m convincing people to read books. I have accomplished my new years goal yay 🙂 I’ll have to read the synopsis to decide if I want to continue. It might ruin the good things of me before you maybe haha

        Like

Leave a Reply

