Book Review: Moonglass by Jessi Kirby

8535449

Title: Moonglass

Author: Jessi Kirby

Pages: 232

Date of publication: May 3rd 2011

Goodreads Synopsis: 

I read once that water is a symbol for emotions. And for a while now, I’ve thought maybe my mother drowned in both.

Anna’s life is upended when her father accepts a job transfer the summer before her junior year. It’s bad enough that she has to leave her friends and her life behind, but her dad is moving them to the beach where her parents first met and fell in love–a place awash in memories that Anna would just as soon leave under the surface.

While life on the beach is pretty great, with ocean views and one adorable lifeguard in particular, there are also family secrets that were buried along the shore years ago. And the ebb and flow of the ocean’s tide means that nothing–not the sea glass that she collects on the sand and not the truths behind Anna’s mother’s death–stays buried forever.

My thoughts:

I started reading this book because I fell in love with Jessi’s book, “Things we know by heart.” It was perfection so I expected the same from all her other books that I grabbed off bookoutlet.

However, I am so sad to announce that this book is literally a WTF book. It was dry, boring, slow, and nothing eventful happened enough to capture anyone’s heart. Anna was a pretty basic character. She lost her mom, felt pain, but never recovered or grew out of it or even tried to grow out of it until the very last five pages of the book. The mystery behind the real reason why Anna and her father’s relationship was rocky felt realistic. However, it could have so easily been solved if they both of them admitted to their feelings instead of dragging it out till the end of the book. Look, i get that that is a sign of character development because they’re overcoming their fears of really digging into the gritty gross stuff of why their father-daughter relationship is in the dumps but i don’t consider both characters fully grown when every aspect of themselves are exactly the same aside from confrontation.

I found it so hard to finish this book. I think it might have actually put me in a young adult ban for a while. I’m going to read some adult contemporary romance novels to cool me down because this book was literally the bane of my existence for this entire week.

THANK GOD I FINISHED OMG

And can we just talk about the formatting of this book? It was literally giant walls of text that left my brain dead after reading it. There were no spaces between dialogue which caused confusion as to who the freak was freaking talking!!!!

Did you read this book? How did you feel about it? Will you consider to read it after my review? Let me know!

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Moonglass by Jessi Kirby

Leave a Reply

