How to Read More (Even When You’re in School)

Hello folks! 

I’m back again with another helpful blog post on how to read more during your year and beat that Goodreads challenge! Personally, I feel like I have a lot of time during the whole year to complete my Goodreads challenge since I do have approximately four months of summer and one month off during the winter. I’m a full-time student but I don’t work so obviously, I have a lot more time than people who do in fact work.

While I plan to gain an internship or a small retail job this summer, I do hope that I’m still able to read as much as I can during the semester and the summer months. These are the tips that I have for you to check out!

Read wherever you go

I commute to school so I’m constantly stuck on trains, buses, and cars. Going to school usually takes around 40 minutes to 2 hours depending on the form of transportation I decide to take so I always bring a book with me to keep my boredom at bay. When I’m not catching up on sleep on the train, I’m reading the next chapter in my book.

And when I have breaks between classes during my day, I usually turn to my book to pass my time before the next class if I don’t have too much work to catch up on. The point of this tip is to seek spare moments in your day where you can read a couple of pages because a little bit does go a long way.

Read shorter things

I know some friends of mine on instagram enjoy the thicker novels that weighs a tonne. Personally, I’m always intimidated of the book if it’s over 300 pages but that’s just me. I’m scared of the story dragging on for too long in some bits and I’m also scared that I will start panicking because I’m not reading enough during the month and this book is standing in the way from the next book I have in store to read.

With all that being said, I suggest to read shorter books. I’m going to tell you that there is no rule in the Goodreads challenge that stop you from adding books that are less than 100 pages. The whole point of the challenge is to read more but I like to think that its purpose is to make readers branch out to more genres, lengths, styles etc. It doesn’t really matter how short or long the story is. The only thing that matters is that you’re enjoying the thing you’re reading.

I set my goal to 150 books this year for my Goodreads and I’m more than halfway there. Most of my books read in January were full length novels that were around 200-300 pages each and while some were pretty shit, I enjoyed most of them. The novellas I read were around 30-100 pages each and while, I did read a lot, and it did boost my completion by a lot as well, I enjoyed them too.

Plan it. Stick with it.

If you want to read your book before you go to sleep, put away your phone, stop scrolling through  Netflix, and just pick up the book and read it. It’s as simple as that.

We get it. Life happens.

I’ve heard from a lot of people I’ve gotten the chance to chat with on Instagram. One of the main comments I received from people when I told them that I read 267 books last year was that “You have so much time!” And while I did admit that I believed I had a lot of time in the beginning of this post, last year I worked during the summer and completed my semester of school, and did everything imaginable with my pals.

The point is is that you need to stop guilt tripping yourself when you’re not reading a book every single day or every single week or even every single month. There are 12 months in the year and that just means you have so much more time to read! Give yourself a break when some hiccup pops up in your day and you can’t stick to your plan to finish reading your book.

Stop worrying about your challenge when your friend calls you in the middle of your reading session and wants to catch up! Life does happen and while books are an amazing escape from all the bullshit, the good bits in life is worth living through too.

If you have any comments or tips to add to my post…definitely comment down below!

13 thoughts on “How to Read More (Even When You’re in School)

  1. This was such a great post to read! I really want to try and read more, this year, too, but with life, work and everything getting in the way, it’s really hard. I too try to make the most of the time I read in transports to read a little bit, and breaks during the day. It’s just sometimes SO hard to see people reading so many books, and knowing I won’t ever be able to read that much in a year, because I don’t read as fast, or I’m too busy to do so 😦
    But I guess what matters is that we read, no matter if it’s 50 or 200 books per year! 🙂

    Like

    1. I totally get your feeling because I always compare myself to others with everything! It’s so horrible for my mental health because I’m constantly wanting to read more than the person i just found on goodreads or I want to the book that got published this year first. It sucks! And then I also hate it when my schedule makes me feel guilty when I read. Like when I have homework to catch up on but I read a chapter instead but feel awful when I do so i’m not really enjoying the book. I think the best motto is just to read books that make you happy and everything will be okay 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Me too! I know it’s bad, but I can’t help it, I’m always comparing myself to others! 😦
        This happens to me, too! I sometimes read a book and then I feel guilty because I have work to do. It happens the other way around, too: sometimes I read, but I’m not really enjoying the book because I’m not in the mood to read. But if I don’t, I feel like I’m going to be, late, idk?I guess that’s bad, too. You’re right, that’s a great motto! 🙂

        Like

  2. Totally agree with you. Last year I read 170 books or something like that. And people were like, where do you find time? or You’ve a lot of free time. But the real thing is that I believe if you want to do something, you find time to do it. Maybe you can’t spend three hours doing it, but half an hour for me is enough. Some days I just read a chapter and it was fine. I hope I follow what I say when the school and other classes start!

    Like

    1. Haha I know right? I just feel like you’re making an excuse to not do something you love because you need to justify why you’re not doing it and i’m just like you can totally stop watching netflix and read a chapter or two of a book!! Or some other reasons are more legitimate, obviously. I have a reading slump or something big happened in my life then it’s okay. Or maybe even when you’re too busy because of clubs, job, school work, and life. 😀 I just want people to understand if you manage your time wisely, books can be read.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a great post.
    Audiobooks and comics are also great ways to read more books. I was only able to make my goal the last two years because I read lot of comics. And as for audiobooks, they’re great for listening to while working out or doing chores or other things that don’t invovle your brain so much (like doing homework).

    Like

  4. This was so helpful. I aim to read 70 books this year, and I’m only at 8—which is more than I expected at this time—but a lot of the time I’m just too tired. I have the privilege of flexible time to read, but what with coursework and other writing I need to do, by the end of it, well, you get the gist. But, like you’ve said, I’m going to sit down and put my phone away and READ, even if it’s just a page or two, because that’s a page or two more than before.

    Like

  5. This is such great advice! I have always put pressure on myself to read at least a book a week (and even more so, now that I’ve started using the Goodreads Challenge) but sometimes, life just gets in the way and I find myself binge reading other books all throughout the next week I have free. Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

