The 5th Wave Movie Review

Alright, this review is for the fellows and ladies who is like me and didn’t read the novel before watching the film. Before you throw your copies of The 5th Wave at me, I just want to let you know that I have no desire to read the book because I’m not attracted to the plot and thought the movie would suffice to fulfill my post-apocalyptic fantasies.

SPOILER FREE

The 5th Wave

Movie Release date (Canada): January 15 2016

Director: J Blakeson

Story by: Rick Yancey

Starring: Chloe Grace Mortez, Nick Robinson, Ron Livingston, Maggie Siff, Alex Roe

Genre: Action & Adventure, Mystery & Suspense, Science Fiction & Fantasy

Plot Synopsis: 16-year-old Cassie Sullivan tries to survive in a world devastated by the waves of an alien invasion that has already decimated the population and knocked mankind back to the Stone Age

Overall thoughts:

Let’s cut to the chase here because chances are if you’re reading this, you’ve probably read a tonne of The 5th Wave movie reviews already. I haven’t yet but I’m just going to assume it’s either the extreme of “OMG IT WAS SO GOOD” to “Wtf was that?”

My overall thoughts of the movies were “wtf was that” and “oh god, this movie is so cheesy. Pass me the crackers.” A little background of where I’m coming from with my review is that no, I haven’t read the book, and no, I haven’t even watched the trailer before buying my ticket and walking into the theatre. I had no expectations for the movie yet I was very excited because of the hype of the book and of course, the hype of the movie.

What I liked:

  • The exciting factor
    • Gun shots, explosions, buildings being torn down from massive wave
    • I was literally jolted out of my seat at times and that’s exactly what a movie is supposed to do
  • The cinematography at some points…
    • I kind of fell off the “oh cool, this movie was shot really well” to “this kind of looks like a low budget film” towards the end

What I disliked:

  • Instalove – cheesy lines
    • I never read the book but the movie pretty much promoted this between characters
    • The lines used were classic cheesy lines that made me cringe and laugh out loud
    • It wasn’t touching at all and it made me question my sanity
  • It was kind of awkward at some moments
    • If you watched it and remembered that awkward scene where Evan and Cassie meet up with Ben on the side.
    • I think it was supposed to be awkward and funny but I also think they thought it would be extremely romantic for them to catch up like that
  • Cinematography was poor
    • The images weren’t as sharp as I would have liked
    • It was fuzzy at points and dimly lit.
    • It could have done so much better to make me feel like I was actually apart of the world
  • Props looked super fake?? The technology gadgets and everything was really poorly done???
    • Honestly, it looked like a 2000 movie and not a 2016 one. Come on, guys! Pick up the slack and create better images
  • The plot was standard
    • Plot twist? Saw it coming from a mile away and if you didn’t, it’s not too surprising because you’ve seen it before from all the other end of the world teen movies nowadays
    • A love triangle maybe??? From a person who didn’t read the book, I’m not too sure if that’s what the movie was heading towards but maybe on this
  • There were a lot of iffy moments
    • If The Others were so dangerous, they would have stricter security control than that.
    • There were so many iffy moments where I asked myself how come nobody caught them? They’re standing right there!

Would I recommend it to you?

  • I think I would recommend it to everyone who read the book and liked it or didn’t like it. You deserve to treat yourself to the visual representation of it after getting through that book
  • If you didn’t read the book but you find yourself kind of intrigued with the idea and bored with nothing to do: Go ahead and watch the film
  • And if you don’t like the premise from the trailer, you didn’t read the book, skip it. I think there are way better movies on Netflix anyways.

Thoughts? Comments? How did you like the movie? Comment down below and let me know!

 

6 thoughts on “The 5th Wave Movie Review

  1. I’m so sad that the movie’s gotten such bad reviews because the book was awesome. YA sci fi movies have really declined since The Hunger Games. The companies really need to pick up their YA game, they’re getting such great material and coming out with crap!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

