What Are You Reading Mondays

I found a new meme for my small batch of followers to try out themselves! Basically, “what are you reading mondays” is a place for you to tell your followers what you’re reading–maybe introduce them to a new book–and in return, they do the same.

Rules:

  • Make a post regarding what you’re currently reading
  • Post the rules so everyone can participate

I’m currently reading …

Title: Moonglass
Author: Jessi Kirby
Pages: 232
Date published: May 3rd 2011

Goodreads Synopsis:

Ā I read once that water is a symbol for emotions. And for a while now, I’ve thought maybe my mother drowned in both.

Anna’s life is upended when her father accepts a job transfer the summer before her junior year. It’s bad enough that she has to leave her friends and her life behind, but her dad is moving them to the beach where her parents first met and fell in love–a place awash in memories that Anna would just as soon leave under the surface.

While life on the beach is pretty great, with ocean views and one adorable lifeguard in particular, there are also family secrets that were buried along the shore years ago. And the ebb and flow of the ocean’s tide means that nothing–not the sea glass that she collects on the sand and not the truths behind Anna’s mother’s death–stays buried forever.

Goodreads Link to the book

My thoughts so far…

I read Jessi’s new book, “Things we know by heart” and it absolutely tore me apart. It was so fantastic and I recommend it to everyone. So that’s why I decided to pick up her first debut novel and see if it’s as good as her latest one.

It’s definitely harder to get into. Her writing style is perfection but can get heavy at sometimes. The formatting of the book itself could have been done better because giant chunks of texts line the pages with little breaks. It feels like I took a big breath of fresh air when I finally see a break.

Now you try it! Tag a few friends and comment down below with the link to your post for me to check out or tell me here what you’re reading!

 

8 thoughts on “What Are You Reading Mondays

  1. Annette says:

    I love Jessi Kirby and I quite enjoyed Moonglass, but it is quite an emotional novel which can make it a slower read than say Golden. I love this idea for a new meme!

    Like

Leave a Reply

