Book Review: My Life Undecided

7880506

 

Author: Jessica Brody
Pages: 320
Published: June 7th 2011
Genre: Contemporary, chick-lit, comedy
Rating: 4.5 / 5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis: 

Here’s the deal. My name is Brooklyn Pierce, I’m fifteen years old, and I am decisionally challenged. Seriously, I can’t remember the last good decision I made. I can remember plentyof crappy ones though. Including that party I threw when my parents were out of town that accidentally burned down a model home. Yeah, not my finest moment, for sure.

But see, that’s why I started a blog. To enlist readers to make my decisions for me. That’s right. I gave up. Threw in the towel. I let someone else decide which book I read for English. And whether or not I accepted an invitation to join the debate team from that cute-in-a-dorky-sort-of-way guy who gave me the Heimlich maneuver in the cafeteria. (Note to self: chew the melon before swallowing it.) I even let them decide who I dated!

Well, it turns out there are some things in life you simply can’t choose or have chosen for you—like who you fall in love with. And now everything’s more screwed up than ever.

But don’t take my word for it. Read the book and decide for yourself. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll scream in frustration. Or maybe that’s just me. After all, it’s my life. 

My thoughts:

I’ve recently read a book called “My Life Undecided” by Jessica Brody and it was fantastic. It’s about a 15 years old teen named Brooklyn who can’t seem to make the right decision. In fact, she was convinced that every disaster that her family and peers encountered had something to do with her. And she was correct.

She made some poor decisions throughout the book. She agreed to go out with her trouble maker best friend when she wasn’t supposed to and she smoked a cigarette that got her detention after getting caught by the school’s security guard. Brooklyn was distressed at this point, deciding that she could not make a correct decision to save her life so what did she do?

She made a blog. And allowed her readers to vote in polls to decide what she should do in every predicament that arose. Surprisingly, she got a response, and after only a couple of weeks, her blog struck major fame when a popular gossip blog promoted her page.

Brooklyn developed as chapters flew by. She became stronger, reverting back to her true self. A person where she didn’t need to look a certain way or to fill her head with nonsense such as the latest celebrity trash. Brooklyn also found courage within herself to walk away from toxic friendships and embrace loving ones and loved ones.

I guess I would have to thank this book because without it, I would have never found the final push to create a blog for readers to discover. I always felt deeply that I had more things to express and say about books that left a strong impact on me but I never found the push to make a blog. Another reason that stopped me was that I thought I wouldn’t be able to juggle and handle keeping up with a blog and continuing my studies. I kind of have an addictive personality so it works against me. Haha.

Final recommendation: Please check out this book because it was fantastic.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: My Life Undecided

Leave a Reply

